In A Relationship With Books

Hey nerds! I’m Angeli but you probably already know that if you’ve read my bio. This is my very first attempt to write this blog and to hopefully stick with it and be consistent with at least one thing in my life (I’m never consistent I cry).

Let me introduce myself first. I’m a 24-year-old nerd who loves being at home flipping pages of a book, playing with cats, and facing the computer or phone most of the time doing who knows what. I’m a Filipino but I’m currently working in Thailand as an English Teacher in an International School.

I was born a bookworm. The moment my dad taught me how to read, the moment I could blend 2-3 and eventually more letters together to form a word, I was drinking in everything that has the alphabet. My mother graduated with a degree in AB Literature so I grew up reading Greek mythology and a few classics.

I loved works by female authors (Lucy Maud Montgomery, Frances Hodgson Burnett, Jane Austen, and the like) because I was probably sexist as a teenager but I didn’t even realize it then. JK! I just like the female protagonists in their books and how they try to push through society’s expectations. #FEMINISM

source.gif

I remember the first set of books I bought with my own money. Twilight was the most anticipated movie that was released when I was in high school, so being caught up with the fandom, I bought the whole Twilight saga (individually, of course). The New Moon was unfortunately a smaller sized paper back with Kristen Stuart, Rob Pattinson, and Taylor Lautner on the cover! The rest were the beautiful black and red covers and were normal sized paperbacks. Anyway when all of the movies came out, I was grateful I completed the books first because the movies were just awful.

giphy.gif

As I got older and got more stressed at school, my reading lessened and I became hooked to kpop, kdramas, TV shows, and anime. I still read from time to time but definitely not as much as I’ve read before.

Fast forward to my career. After a year of teaching, I discovered Bookstagram and BookTube and how reading became a huge community where people share ideas and recommendations, which I haven’t experienced or encountered before. I was enthralled with this idea of being creative and doing this hobby with utmost enjoyment.

source.gif

I’m now on board and have started my Bookstagram and also setting up my BookTube. This blog is gonna record my progress and I will also use this to share ideas and encourage everyone to watch less and read more.

asdasdwqwd.JPGdfadwed.JPGI hope you guys can support and join me in this journey!

 

Always,

Angeli

4 thoughts on “In A Relationship With Books”

Leave a comment