Top 10 Tuesday: OTPs (Canon and Non-Canon)

Hey nerds! I appreciate the views that I got from yesterday’s post. You guys are amazing! So we have another Top 10 Tuesday this week which is good because I’ve missed a lot this month. Top 10 Tuesday is a bookish meme created by The Broke and the Bookish. So each week, they have a certain topic to write about and you would list down ten things about that topic. I can say that this has been my most favorite meme so far.

This week’s theme is Halloween Freebie! I can choose any topic I want and since I’ve been reading fanfiction and fan-made videos of my OTPs, I thought I would share my shipping with you.

WARNING: This blog post has some spoilers from the Harry Potter series, the Grisha Trilogy, Naruto, ACOTAR, and Six of Crows.

giphy

Disclaimer: I do not own any of the fanarts shown below. Most of them are taken from Pinterest and Tumblr.

1. Dramione (Draco and Hermione) – Harry Potter 

tumblr_oxoiizy5Ru1vqfid4o1_1280.jpg

Dramione continues to be one of the most popular ships in the Harry Potter fandom. I didn’t start shipping this until I went to the dark side and read fanfiction. YouTube and Tumblr are also swarmed with Dramione shippers (very creative ones, too!) I was also able to buy Dramione stickers from Redbubble which says something because a lot of OTPs don’t have that much fanarts.

Screen Shot 2017-10-31 at 10.57.21 AM

I’m definitely carrying this ship to my grave. I’ve been shipping this for 6 years now and it continues to intensify each day. If you’re confused as to how this shipping started, just type Dramione on Google, YouTube, Tumblr, and Pinterest. You’re welcome.

efa447c07a372582259738910ad000fe2447d3a13b2e8d6c7e304fe5fe82fb73a1af3bdc5c67fedeb1fead10daedbd18a348db59759f6adccc871390ea6003671095f5671f2ee15f5550cb3686d547fc

tumblr_oxpy5gHAMy1thf3wjo1_500.gif

2. Krumione (Krum and Hermione) – Harry Potter

Oh dear, this ship the had me screaming with delight whenever I come across their interactions in Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire in both book and movie. This is such an underrated ship that needs more appreciation. Many people don’t realize how sweet Krum is and how he’s always wanted to talk to Hermione and thus visits the library every day to try to start a conversation but he chickens out every time. AND WHEN HE FINALLY HAD THE GUTS TO ASK HER TO THE BALL OAMSDASNDOASNFA

giphy (7).gif

It’s sad how unpopular this ship is that I can’t find any quality fanarts and fan-made videos. Tumblr is the only place thriving with Krumione shippers. Seriously you should check out these fanfictions:

I can’t even get some Krumione merch for my poor, thirsty heart.

Screen Shot 2017-10-31 at 10.57.47 AM

And if I go to YouTube, this is the best I could find:

Like seriously, can someone with bomb.com video editing talent make a more recent video? AKDJAKJSDHAS I WOULD LOVE YOU FOREVER!

And let me just leave this bit here because I’M FOREVER GONNA BE EMO ABOUT HOW THIS COULD HAVE BEEN ENDGAME BUT IT JUST DIDN’T.

Screen Shot 2017-10-31 at 10.35.40 AM

3. ShikaIno (Shikamaru and Ino) – Naruto

4090a05622db2b2622fb86afe9454003

This is another ship that I will take to my grave. I watched Naruto when I was still very young and I watched the ShikaInoChou trio grow up and become teenagers and that was the start of me reading fanfiction because BOI WAS I THIRSTY FOR SHIKAINO FICS. I’d literally wake up at 4AM so I can beat my brother to the computer (we only had one computer and he plays DOTA) and scroll down Fanfiction.net to look for the best ShikaIno fics.

I stopped watching Naruto for a while and I heard that Shikamaru ended up with Temari (which I didn’t really like) AND I WAS SO HEARTBROKEN THAT I REFUSED TO WATCH THE REST OF THE SERIES. I was so bitter and I remember mulling over this fact and I just tried not to think about this series anymore. I still think Shika should’ve ended up with Ino because it’s the perfect “I-fell-in-love-with-my-best-friend” trope and they’re really opposites that they would try to balance each other out in the relationship. Also, I love how they bicker to each other all the time but deep down they actually care and even secretly take care of the other.

AND OH, THEIR BIRTHDAYS ARE JUST A DAY APART AKJSDKASJDH TALK ABOUT SOULMATE.

giphy (8)

Here are some fanfictions that so good, you’d wish they would’ve been canon too.

36bad6844df994f1b1f2f89df582f45b5831d6a39f9fef23ec13adeef25db1f2f88584ca6e2265ad8a333accf2783811

4. Kanej (Kaz and Inej) – Six of Crows

afd9803eabb0fce3e710fe105a4d9b51

KANEJ aka THE MOST BADASS OTP EVER aka THE PUREST AMONG ALL SHIPS aka THE SHIP THAT KILLED ME WITH JUST THEIR HOLDING HANDS ASJDNASJDAK
giphy (7).gif

I’ve actually never read any Kanej fanfiction because I don’t think there are a lot. Wait till this becomes a movie and they’ll be breaking the internet. Despite the lack of fanfiction, Kanej shippers are always supplied with gorgeous fanarts such as these:

00716d6bfaf4bb6f9b90d8b50608e8c5

f85b17242b1ed552bf0111f814b90f11

ea8755aa427eb068aeacfaffda44867e

This couple is iconic and I really look up to how, despite their traumas and fears, they still find ways to support each other and to slowly break free from the chains of their horrible past. And I love how their romance wasn’t abrupt. It was painstakingly unhurried and bittersweet. Here are some quotes from the books that sum up these two cinnamon rolls:

  • “I would have come for you. And if I couldn’t walk, I’d crawl to you, and no matter how broken we were, we’d fight our way out together-knives drawn, pistols blazing. Because that’s what we do. We never stop fighting.”
  • “She smiled then, her cheeks red, her cheeks scattered with some kind of dust. It was a smile he thought he might die to earn again.”
  • “One minute he made her blush and the next he made her want to commit murder.”
  • “Thoughts of moonlight and silken hair evaporated in a black bolt of fury. Kaz saw Inej tug on the sleeve of her left forearm, where the Menagerie tattoo had once been. He had the barest inkling of what she’d endured there, but he knew what it was to feel helpless, and Van Eck had managed to make her feel that way again. Kaz was going to have to find a new language of suffering to teach that smug merch son of a bitch.”
  • “I can hear the change in Kaz’s breathing when he looks at you.
    You… you can?
    It catches every time, like he’s never seen you
    before.”
  • “I don’t want your prayers, he said.
    What do you want, then?
    The old answers came easily to mind. Money. Vengeance. Jordie’s voice in my head silenced forever. But a different reply roared to life inside him, loud, insistent, and unwelcome. You, Inej. You.

dsfasdasd

5. Feysand (Feyre and Rhysand) – A Court of Thorns and Roses

0545c8ba2cfefcdd2ba3eb6669dd7cfb

After reading the ACOTAR series on ebooks, I decided that I had to get the hardcover box set because I needed to annotate and highlight and tab the books so I could be emotionally connected with this intense and action-packed trilogy.

While I read through ACOTAR, it felt very slow-paced and I was even tempted to DNF the book but then RHYS happened. At the end of ACOTAR, I knew, I KNEW THAT I LOVE RHYS AND HE’S MEANT TO BE WITH FEYRE (I never shipped Feylin in the beginning tbvh). AND GUESS WHAT. I WAS RUINED IN ACOMAF.

OF COURSE THEY HAD TO BE MATES. OF COURSE RHYS HAS TO REVEAL HIS THOUGHTS WHEN HE KNEW THAT HIS MATE WAS FEYRE AND HE JUST ENDURED NOT TELLING HER BECAUSE HE DOESN’T WANT HER TO FEEL AS IF SHE WAS FORCED TO BE IN HIS LIFE.

AND OF COURSE HE TREATED HER AS HIS EQUAL AND HE MADE HER HIGH LADY/QUEEN/GODDESS ETERNAL BY HIS SIDE AKSJDHKJASHDKASJDHAKS.

I can’t stress enough how much I love these two ideal baes.

8a0fa4e1cb8a2dfedbec9e81875373ea103458d8f83d033a9a9d532f9268d9d0

tumblr_oumo4vL8DT1wnf4k8o1_1280.jpg

I had to include this last one because it’s hilarious as hell.

6. Nestian (Nesta and Cassian) – A Court of Thorns and Roses

752ebd1d3b9ac3f3095df2b358190985

A VERY VERY FIERCE BUT KAWAII SHIP. Hate-to-love trope executed perfectly. I hope we get more of these two in the next ACOTAR books. Nesta is actually really freakin beautiful with her sassy ways. Of course, as a sister, she has her faults and that’s when Cassian swoops in. Cassian is the joker of the Inner Circle and he can be very rash sometimes. Good think Nesta has him wrapped around her finger.

b02932b07f3f94980373cd8fbe3c8b186dc08ce231d9365a60df3aa8240cb126538ab7d75658e281273886179452139456a1702279619e5289cee1a4b22225a5

7. Dalina (Darkling and Alina) – The Grisha Trilogy

dbe2d14e47c9e7dedaac858eab909459

Nothing can stop me from shipping the Darkling to Alina. I actually think majority of the Grishaverse fandom ship them instead of Mal. The Darkling is mysterious, handsome, a romantic, a man with words that could buckle your knees, handsome, enigmatic, and did I mention handsome?

I ship them hard and I shall remain contented with fanfictions (if there are any) and fanarts because what can a poor girl with a non-canon ship do?

8. Nikolina (Nikolai and Alina) – The Grisha Trilogy

I love Nikolai solely as an individual but if Alina has to be with someone, I’d rather she be with Nikolai than Mal. Alina, for starters, is a brooding and boring character. Nikolai is this sarcastic, narcissistic ray of sunshine that can hopefully shape her to be a less boring female lead.

Nikolai clearly had intentions to marry her and even he was such a gentleman when Alina wanted to kiss him and he was like “I’d kiss you once you don’t think of Mal anymore” asodjaskjdalksjflaksj  WHEN WILL YOUR FAVES EVER??

Screen Shot 2017-10-31 at 3.17.26 PM

source (3)

9. Elriel? Azelain?? idfk (Azriel and Elain) – A Court of Thorns and Roses Trilogy

cba21ecec4a88e33cb82adccd2582113

I don’t ship this really hard but I prefer Elain to be with Azriel. Elain is mated to Lucien but honestly I don’t see any chemistry there. She and Azriel had more interactions in the third book and they both seem to understand each other a lot. Azriel needed to get over Mor, who is never gonna look at him as more than a brother, and his constant guidance to Elain can slowly help him move on.

I’m not exactly sure whether Elain ends up with either Lucien or Azriel or not but I just hope in the upcoming books in the ACOTAR world, she ends up with the latter.

tumblr_oq62qnSsc11u3pm1zo1_r2_1280

tumblr_ork1l8xLyl1uap9p2o1_500

10. Scorose (Scorpius Malfoy and Rose Weasley) – Harry Potter post-war

80105510eecf678ac0e67e37abba1765

If I can’t ship two people to Canonville, I’m better off shipping their children. So here I am, slowly getting deep into this shipping. We don’t know whether this will be canon or not unless JK Rowling decides to throw in another series from this generation. I’d still be gobbling up whatever she throws in.

I’ve been reading awesome fanfiction from this ship and there are tons of fanarts to keep my thirst quenched. Help yourselves with some:

ecd691334808b2a1c597ab45de791493f6f07cecfd95486c2b05c8db961f7e607b7bbec23b07dfb9468480b5cb49353ff241d070e7f7ece57f2f9212ac6cf8908b0be7d5b0e5c0679051bea99598cf8a

ASKJDKASJBD my children are cuuuuuuute ❤

Also here are some fanfiction to tide you over:

 

Did we have the same ships? Who are your OTPs? Comment below! I’d like to discover more ships from everyone.

 

Always,

Angeli

 

 

1 thought on “Top 10 Tuesday: OTPs (Canon and Non-Canon)”

Leave a comment